torstai 14. huhtikuuta 2016

Sarah MacLean: One good earl deserves a lover jne.

Sarah MacLean on ilmeisen tuottelias viihdekirjojen tehtailija, ja kymmenkunta hänen historiallista rakkausromaaniaan löytyy Helmetistä. MacLean ei hirveän huonosti kirjoita, lajityypin puitteissa. Mitään ihmeellisen omaperäistä näistä kirjoista ei löydy, mutta paikka paikoin tekstissä oli huumoria ja yllätyksiäkin.

Monet romaaneista näyttävät muodostavan kirjasarjoja, joissa ilmeisesti olisi tarpeen lukea ne ilmestymisjärjestyksessä, jotta tietää henkilöhahmojen taustoista. Kirjailija tuntuu pitävän numeroista, sen verran usein lukusanoja on kirjojen nimissä.

One good earl deserves a lover (HarperCollins, 2013; ISBN 978-0-06-206539-1)

The brilliant, bespectacled daughter of a double marquess cares more for books than balls, for science than the season, and for laboratories than love. She's looking forward to marrying her simple fiance and living out her days quietly with her dogs and her scientific experiments. But before that, Pippa has two weeks to experience all the rest--fourteen days to research the exciting parts of life. It's not much time, and to do it right she needs a guide familiar with London's darker corners. She needs Cross, the clever, controlled partner in London's most exclusive gaming hell, with a carefully crafted reputation for wickedness. But reputations often hide the darkest secrets, and when the unconventional Pippa boldly propositions him, seeking science without emotion, she threatens all he works to protect.

Nine rules to break when romancing a rake (Harper Collins, 2010; ISBN 978-0-06-185205-3)

A lady does not smoke cheroot. She does not ride astride. She does not fence or attend duels. She does not fire a pistol, and she never gambles at a gentlemen's club.

Lady Calpurnia Hartwell has always followed the rules, rules that have left her unmarried--and more than a little unsatisfied. And so she's vowed to break the rules and live the life of pleasure she's been missing.

But to dance every dance, to steal a midnight kiss--to do those things, Callie will need a willing partner. Someone who knows everything about rule-breaking. Someone like Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston--charming and devastatingly handsome, his wicked reputation matched only by his sinful smile.

If she's not careful, she'll break the most important rule of all--the one that says that pleasure-seekers should never fall hopelessly, desperately in love.

Eleven scandals to start to win a duke's heart (Avon, 2011; ISBN 978-0-06-185207-7)

She lives for passion.

Bold, impulsive, and a magnet for trouble, Juliana Fiori is no simpering English miss. She refuses to play by society's rules: she speaks her mind, cares nothing for the approval of the ton, and can throw a punch with remarkable accuracy. Her scandalous nature makes her a favorite subject of London's most practiced gossips . . . and precisely the kind of woman The Duke of Leighton wants far far away from him.

He swears by reputation.

Scandal is the last thing Simon Pearson has room for in his well-ordered world. The Duke of Disdain is too focused on keeping his title untainted and his secrets unknown. But when he discovers Juliana hiding in his carriage late one evening—risking everything he holds dear—he swears to teach the reckless beauty a lesson in propriety. She has other plans, however; she wants two weeks to prove that even an unflappable duke is not above passion.

A rogue by any other name (Avon Impulse, 2012; ISBN 978-0-06-206538-4)

A decade ago, the Marquess of Bourne was cast from society with nothing but his title. Now a partner in London's most exclusive gaming hell, the cold, ruthless Bourne will do whatever it takes to regain his inheritance--including marrying perfect, proper Lady Penelope Marbury. A broken engagement and years of disappointing courtships have left Penelope with little interest in a quiet, comfortable marriage, and a longing for something more. How lucky that her new husband has access to an unexplored world of pleasures.

Never judge a lady by her cover (Piatkus, 2014; ISBN 978-0-349-40060-0)

Award-winning author Sarah MacLean reveals the identity of The Fallen Angel's final scoundrel in the spectacular conclusion to her New York Times bestselling Rules of Scoundrels series . . .

By day, she is Lady Georgiana, sister to a duke, ruined before her first season in the worst kind of scandal. But the truth is far more shocking—in London's darkest corners, she is Chase, the mysterious, unknown founder of the city's most legendary gaming hell. For years, her double identity has gone undiscovered . . . until now.

Brilliant, driven, handsome-as-sin Duncan West is intrigued by the beautiful, ruined woman who is somehow connected to a world of darkness and sin. He knows she is more than she seems, and he vows to uncover all of Georgiana's secrets, laying bare her past, threatening her present, and risking all she holds dear . . . including her heart.

Ei kommentteja: